top of page

Flexing the Surprise Muscle

Flexing the Surprise Muscle

Are you someone who likes or dislikes surprises? This isn't usually an either-

or question. Dealing with the unexpected can slow down efficiency but

pushing on without self awareness can result in a bad case of, "We may be lost

but we're making good time!" The real question is, how nimble do I want to

be with the unexpected? What have I learned?

Today I had a chance to use the STAMINA Scan questions on a surprising start

to my day.

I recently upgraded my computer so now I have a steady flow of new tech

surprises and puzzles to solve. All this improvement is slowing down my

efficiency. Passwords are a fact of life for all the new bells and whistles. A

recent bright idea was to put all my passwords on a wonderful list to which I

can refer whenever I need to. (Note this is a crafty memory management

strategy.) This morning when I restarted my computer I was surprised to find

I needed a password to get into my computer. Oh no! The crafty new

document was on the computer, the one I couldn’t get into without a

password.

How did this throw me off balance?

I was dumbfounded.

How did I respond as a first reaction?

Yelping ensued along with an instant list of worst-case scenarios. I enlisted

my husband in the panic, along with a good pinch of self-criticism for my short

sightedness. (Irritating husband pointed out same.)

How did I achieve a new level of balance?

I have been grinding through quite a few new computer challenges lately, so

with determination I could grudgingly try every password I’ve scribbled on

my desk blotter until I got the right one. Groaning ensued as I scanned the

jumble. I started with my best guess and voila! Lucky me.

How would I rate my surprise muscle? a) Pretty Darn Good, b) A Little Wobbly,

c)Trudging Along, d) Wilting

Between b) and c) Surprise was met with shame, blame and panic. Great. But

thinking about it, I did draw on my growing experience and patience with tech

problem solving.

How can I build strength or more flexibility with surprises?

Instead of fighting the need to deal with these onerous cognitive skirmishes

with my computer, taking on new computer projects can provide strength

training in patience and build my meeting-the-unexpected muscle. (Okay,

okay--this is called reframing an irritating necessity for keeping up with the

21st century. Might as well admit it with a smile.)

After thoughts

It helps to strengthen the grin muscle at every opportunity. It’s a vital element

in flexibility and balance. Which is more fun: handling surprises or surprising

people? How about making a pact with yourself to do something out of

character every day? Take Wendell Berry’s advice in his Manifesto of a

Contrarian. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwopVR1hhMU

Surprise yourself in fact, as well as others. Even better, decide how you most

like your surprises to be served. If you're mindful you can take time to spot

and enjoy the pleasant ones and roll with the unpleasant ones.

Surprise

Sunlight glints on leaves.

Clouds amaze the sky.

Wind howls in awe.

Birds sing just because.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page